Scott Laughton Nominated For King Clancy Memorial Trophy

The Philadelphia Flyers announced today that they have nominated Scott Laughton for the King Clancy Memorial Trophy.

The award is presented each season to the player who “best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community.”

The winner will be chosen by a committee of senior NHL executives, including Commissioner Gary Bettman and Deputy Commissioner Bill Daly. The selection committee will apply the following criteria in determining the finalists and winner:

  • Clear and measurable positive impact on the community

  • Investment of time and resources

  • Commitment to a particular cause or community

  • Commitment to the League’s community initiatives

  • Creativity of programming

  • Use of influence; engagement of others

The first-place finisher will receive a $25,000 donation to benefit a charity of his choice. The two other finalists will each receive a $5,000 donation to benefit a charity of their choice.

Here's a look at the rest of the nominees from each team.

No Flyer has ever won the trophy, which has been handed out annually since the 1987-88 season.


Stay up to date!  

Thanks for submitting!